Notes: April 30, 2009

Multiplied Sadness

As in the previous two chapters, this also follows the order of the Hebrew alphabet, 3 verses for each of the 22 letters.

Lamentations 3

  • The prophet expresses his own personal sadness (v. 1-20).
  • Reminded of God’s faithful mercy, the prophet has hope (v. 21-27).
  • God is good (v. 28-39).
  • God’s chastisement if not pleasurable (v. 40-54).
  • God has delivered me, and I can hope that He shall do so again (v. 55-66).